You are here

ALC Girls invited to the 12th Annual Women Tech Awards

Submitted by shelley.heaton on Mon, 10/14/2019 - 15:08
Shelley Heaton/ Womens Tech Council .Photos by CiCi Keetch/Shelley Heaton

Pictured left to right are Madison Heaton, Jade Poulson, Kaylee Bishop, Rebecca Whyte, Katie Solorzano, Kaisha Passey (from SHHS), and Rachel Durfee.

 On October 9, 2019, 6 girls who attend the ALC were invited to take part in the 12th Annual Women Tech Awards. It was held at the Grand America Hotel. The girls who were in attendance were Madison Heaton, Jade Poulson, Rebecca Whyte, Katie Solorzano, Rachel Durfee, and Kaylee Bishop. 

The girls were able to rub shoulders with many of the finalists there, along with the Keynote speaker, Tami Erwin, EVP& Group CEO Verizon Business Group. 

Tami leads a $30B+ business and is a passionate advocate for advancing women at all levels in technology. Tami’s experience and work echo the mission of promoting women in tech and further validates the importance of recognizing the women growing the technology industry. 

The Women Tech Council (WTC) is a national organization focused on the economic impact of women in driving high growth for the technology sector through developing programs that propel the economic pipeline from high school to the C-suite. WTC offers mentoring, visibility, opportunities and networking to more than 10,000 women and men working in technology.

 With this year’s finalists, these awards have now recognized more than 200 technology-focused women who are driving innovation, creating new technologies, impacting tech companies and inspiring the technology community. This recognition accelerates growth for the entire technology sector and helps inspire the next generation of STEM leaders.  

This year’s finalists were selected for their professional achievements, personal accomplishments, leadership in business and industry experiences.   

The finalists are as follows, listed alphabetically:  

  •     Aniza M. Brown Chief of Corporate Transformation and Federal Women's Program Manager, United States Air Force, Ogden Air Logistics Complex, Hill Air Force Base, Utah 

  •     Anjul Bhambhri Vice President Platform Engineering, Adobe 

  •     Beth Klaumann Chief Engineer, Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems 

  •     Christie Kent Chief Financial Officer, SirsiDynix  

  •     Crystal Valentine Chief Data Strategy Officer, Eventbrite  

  •     Emily Smith Director of Strategic Partnerships, Divvy 

  •     Erin Valenti Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Tinker   

  •     Heather Conlan-Katz Vice President and Senior Engineer, ETO Technology-Client Event Services, Goldman Sachs 

  •     Kari Hensien Vice President Product and Brand Experience, RizePoint  

  •     Karla Renee Associate Content Manager, Lucid Software  

  •     Katie Boyd Analytics Director and Engagement Lead, Health Catalyst 

  •     Kristie Rowley Principal Consultant Data Science, Domo 

  •     Laura Butler Senior Vice President People & Culture, Workfront 

  •     Lina Nilsson Senior Director of Data Science, Recursion Pharmaceuticals  

  •     Linda Llewelyn Chief People Officer, Health Catalyst 

What an awesome experience for this group of girls. Thanks to Ms. Ronda Hair for arranging this and to Mrs. Keetch for taking the girls to this great opportunity of rubbing shoulders with some very intellectual and powerful women.

#alc#DiscoverPowerWithin #NeboHero #NeboSchoolDistrict #StudentSuccess #EmpowerStudents #EngageStudents #FocusOnStudents #LoveUTpublicSchools #UtPol #UtEd #ThankATeacher #LoveTeaching